1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer


There are five major types of immunoglobulins classified on the basis of their heavy chain: IgG, IgM, IgA, IgE and IgD. Elevation of all the immunoglobulins (polyclonal gammopathy) is seen in chronic inflammatory and autoimmune diseases. An increase of a single immunoglobulin (monoclonal gammopathy) may be associated with a benign condition or a malignancy such as plasma cell myeloma or lymphoma. In these latter conditions, other immunoglobulins may be suppressed. Reduced immunoglobulins are seen in various immune deficiency states.

Reference ranges are:


600 - 1500 mg/dL


60 – 400 mg/dL


50 – 300 mg/dL


Specimen requirement is one SST tube of blood.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Stay Informed

Amazon Book

Our Sponsors

Login Form

Mobile Applications

iPad mini Horz Vert 300w

Get it for: iPhoneiPad

ClinLab Navigator Information

McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© 2015 ClinLab Navigator, LLC.